Money it’s a Hit.

So I’ve been job hunting here in Toronto for the last week. So far I’ve only gotten one interview that seems to have gone well. I interviewed for Starbucks as a Shift Supervisor, I’m hoping they call me back because I could really use a job and I don’t want to go on to the Welfare system here. But if I have no Job by October 1st that’s what I’m going to have to do. I hate the things people have to do for money, there really should be a reasonable baseline for people to live at. People would still work, some wouldn’t I admit that, but; that is already the case. Why can’t we as a society have poverty be a reasonable living level. Welfare is about 700$ a month. You still have to pay rent, and most people on it like to fuck themselves up with pot, drugs, or alcohol for a few days with their cheques. People with kids do it too. Not everyone mind you, but enough. Who are we to judge? How much do you spend on Pot, Drugs, or Booze or all three on any given paycheque? You go out for a drink with friends, people on welfare buy a 12 or a 24 of beer and get hammered. The difference is only that when someone on welfare does it they’re spending more than 15% of their monthly income on booze. It’s hard to be a drunk on welfare, or not fair as I call it. You’ve got to have a scam to get to the next payday or use mostly Christian Charities. For a die hard Atheist like me Christian Charity is a non issue. I hate them. They think that just because someone doesn’t have faith they should be a conversion target. I’ve had a lot of people try to convert me over the years and it gets really irritating. But when you’re poor you end up indebted to them. I don’t want that. But I can only lean on my few friends so much. So what to do?

I’m hoping it doesn’t come to that, I’m a bright, friendly, intelligent guy and I don’t belong in the system. I want to work. I want to get paid and spend money on going for drinks. I want to be able to buy enough pot to keep my mind from going to the dark dark places it goes. But its really hard to find a job for me because on medical advice I didn’t work for 5 years. When it was suggested by my “pdoc” (Psychiatrist) that I go out and try to find a part time job I enrolled in a University Transfer program at Langara College in Vancouver. I chose school to get a better job when I’m done. I love school. I plan on getting two degrees. Just like the Manager of Starbucks… What did I say about a better job? Wait a minute, two degrees and managing a Starbucks… Maybe I’m doing the right thing by getting a shit job… You’d expect with two degrees she’d have a Government job or something. This economy is fucked up.

Wish me luck!

About vortexian

I'm a long time net user and writer. I just thought I'd collect somethings here.
This entry was posted in This Story Is Already In Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

